Young Artist Scholarship

The CHORALE promotes the study of music and continued participation in music organizations during and beyond college through our Young Artist Scholarship. Each spring we award $1,000 scholarship(s) to outstanding high school senior(s) planning to study music at the college or university level.  It is your support and encouragement for this program that allows us to continue to recognize these talented young people.

2019 Scholarship Winners

Sarah Grosse Perdekamp is a senior at University Laboratory High School and the daughter of Matthias and Maria Grosse Perdekamp. A soprano, she has participated in Honorable Mention in the Central National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) Competition: High School Classical Women Category 2018; Illinois All-State and District Choir 2014-19 (2018-19 Honors Chorus); First place in 12th Young Baroque Artists Competition, vocal duet with Lukas Grosse Perdekamp (2017); Second place in the 11th YBAC Competition, solo 2016. She is also active with Central Illinois Children’s Choir, University Laboratory High School Choir, Madrigal Choir, Uni High Fiddle Club, St. Patrick’s Adult Choir, Conductor of the St. Patrick’s Youth Orchestra, St. Patrick’s Cantor, Leader of Teen Choir and Assistant for Children’s Choir. She plans to study a dual degree of vocal performance and political science, pursuing a career in vocal performance. She will be attending the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University in Fall 2019.

Jessica Dolan is a senior at Tri-Valley High School and the daughter of John and Laura Dolan. A mezzo soprano, she has participated in BYAC Third Place March 2019, All-State Honors Choir January 2019, Millikin Vocal Fest Semi-Finalist September 2017 and 2018, NATS Classical Semi-Finalist 2018, Classical Finalist 2017, NATS MT Finalist 2017 and 2018. She is also active in Art Club, Student Council, Voice Lessons, Community Players, and Prairie Fire Theater. In addition to music, she has a passion for theatre, math and science. She will be attending Illinois Wesleyan University in Fall 2019.

Nathaniel Waterson is a senior at Paxton Buckley Loda High School and the son of William and Sara Waterson. A baritone, he has participated in ILMEA District 3 Choir (2015-16-17-18), ILMEA All State Honors Choir (2017-18-19), IHSA National Anthem Audition Selectee (2018), IHSA National Anthem Finalist (2019), and IHSA National Anthem Singer (2019). He is also active with Choir, Madrigals, Marching Band, Concert Band, Jazz Band, NHS, Boy Scouts, Community Service Club, Math Team and Student Council. He plans to major in music education, concentrating in choral music, and may pursue a double major including voice performance. He would like to teach but also wants to be active in performance. He hopes to study abroad and to be able to tell his grandkids how he performed in the great performance halls of Europe or taught underprivileged children in third world countries. He will be attending the University of Illinois in Fall 2019.

All Young Artist Scholarship Winners

Name Year of Award
Sarah Grosse Perdekamp 2019
Jessica Dolan* 2019
Nathaniel Waterson* 2019
Sydney Hoel 2018
Eugene Keem 2018
Jessica Rose 2018
Matthew Reeder 2017
Isaac Henry 2017
Vincent Beard 2017
Alexander Frazzetto 2017
Chandler Dorjahn 2016
Noah Larson 2016
Jack Reeder 2015
Corinne Fombelle 2015
Crystal Bragg* 2015
Elizabeth Kim* 2015
Matthew Frazzetto* 2015
Jack Wright* 2015
Kathryn Craft 2014
Blake Miller 2014
Adam Owens 2014
Caitlin Richardson 2013
Celia Williams, 2013
Emily Margevich* 2013
Kathleen Myers* 2013
Samantha Wells* 2013
Kathy Qui 2012
Caitlin Caruso-Dobbs 2012
Sidney Megeff 2012
Crofton Coleman* 2012
Saint-John the Baptist Kelly 2011
Jeremy Loui 2011
Nicholas Beckett 2011
Brenna Pfeifer 2011
Katherine Floess 2011
Daniel Cheng 2010
Chris Holman 2010
Aaron Schwartz 2010
Rachel Koblyakov 2009
Eric Kobel 2009
Benjamin King* 2009
Christina Radi* 2009
Emelinda Escobar 2008
Derek Maninfior 2008
Jennifer Roloff 2008
Peter Deal* 2008
Bernadette Wagner* 2008
Alex Chin 2007
Alex Cahill* 2007
Molly Netter 2006
Tyler Rivera Stein 2005
Andrea Hunsinger* 2005
Chris Whittaker* 2005
Davion Williams 2004
Stephanie Lee* 2004
Tom Siders 2003
Katrina Kappas* 2002
Andreas Stoltzfus 2002
Adelaide Muir 2001
Jim Siders 2000
Hilary Nieman 2000
Grace Xu 1999
Leslie Eldridge 1998
Mark McLane 1997
Bill Rank 1996
Julie Buck* 1996
Amy Treat 1995
Charles Butts 1994
Ian Sean Tatum 1993

* indicates an honorable mention.

The CHORALE is very proud of the accomplishments of this group of inspired students. Each year we are impressed with the incredible level of musicianship that these young people have achieved. We sincerely hope the best for them in their musical endeavors.