Young Artist Scholarship

The CHORALE promotes the study of music and continued participation in music organizations during and beyond college through our Young Artist Scholarship. Each spring, we award one if not several $1,000 scholarships to outstanding high school seniors, planning to study music at the college or university level. It is your support and encouragement for this program that allows us to continue to recognize these talented young people.

The application deadline for 2016 scholarship consideration is Friday, March 18, 2016. The application can be obtained at this link.

Presentation of the 2016 award will be made during the Young Artist Scholarship concert on May 14, 2016.

2016 Scholarship Winners

Chandler Dorjan

Chandler Dorjan (oboe) is a senior at Paris High School and is the son of Alan and Ramona Dorjahn. He began studying piano and oboe when he was in fourth grade. His middle school band director, Abbey Houser, encouraged him to also play other instruments, so he learned to play bass guitar for jazz band and saxophone for marching band. He received ILMEA All State Honors Orchestra, Best of Day Sophomore and Junior Years IHSA Solo and Ensemble, Runner Up - ECIYO Concerto Competition, NEMC Area Recital and Honors Recital. His extracurricular activities include East Central Illinois Youth Orchestra and Woodwind Quintet, Audacious Chamber Orchestra, Pit Orchestra, and Jazz Band. He plans to attend University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music and to eventually earn his doctorate so he can either professionally perform or teach at a college level. He dreams of performing on the stage of Carnegie Hall or being a part of a world class orchestra.

Noah Larson

Noah Larson (violin) is a senior at University Laboratory High School, resides in Champaign and is the son of Kellie and Scott Larson. He has been studying violin for 13 years. At the age of 13, he and some friends created the St. Patrick’s Youth Orchestra, possibly the only pre-collegiate student-run youth orchestra in the nation. He presently serves as the sole music director and conductor. His honors include: All-State Honors Violinist; East Central Illinois Youth Orchestra Concerto Competition – 2nd Violin 2014, 2015; 1st Violin 2016 runner-up. His extracurricular activities include University of Illinois String Academy, 1st violin in Honors Quartet 2014-2016, and Music Director and Conductor of the St. Patrick’s Youth Orchestra. He is an all-around consummate musician including singing, composition and conducting. He plans to attend the University of Illinois in the fall.


All Young Artist Scholarship Winners
NameYear of Award
Chandler Dorjan2016
Noah Larson2016
Jack Reeder2015
Corinne Fombelle2015
Crystal Bragg*2015
Elizabeth Kim* 2015
Matthew Frazzetto*2015
Jack Wright*2015
Kathryn Craft 2014
Blake Miller 2014
Adam Owens 2014
Caitlin Richardson 2013
Celia Williams, 2013
Emily Margevich* 2013
Kathleen Myers* 2013
Samantha Wells* 2013
Kathy Qui 2012
Caitlin Caruso-Dobbs 2012
Sidney Megeff 2012
Crofton Coleman* 2012
Saint-John the Baptist Kelly 2011
Jeremy Loui 2011
Nicholas Beckett 2011
Brenna Pfeifer 2011
Katherine Floess 2011
Daniel Cheng 2010
Chris Holman 2010
Aaron Schwartz 2010
Rachel Koblyakov 2009
Eric Kobel 2009
Benjamin King* 2009
Christina Radi* 2009
Emelinda Escobar 2008
Derek Maninfior 2008
Jennifer Roloff 2008
Peter Deal* 2008
Bernadette Wagner* 2008
Alex Chin 2007
Alex Cahill* 2007
Molly Netter 2006
Tyler Rivera Stein 2005
Andrea Hunsinger* 2005
Chris Whittaker* 2005
Davion Williams 2004
Stephanie Lee* 2004
Tom Siders 2003
Katrina Kappas* 2002
Andreas Stoltzfus 2002
Adelaide Muir 2001
Jim Siders 2000
Hilary Nieman 2000
Grace Xu 1999
Leslie Eldridge 1998
Mark McLane 1997
Bill Rank 1996
Julie Buck* 1996
Amy Treat 1995
Charles Butts 1994
Ian Sean Tatum 1993

* indicates an honorable mention.

The CHORALE is very proud of the accomplishments of this group of inspired students. Each year we are impressed with the incredible level of musicianship that these young people have achieved. We sincerely hope the best for them in their musical endeavors.